Full-time Faculty
Name Contact Research
Jason E. Butler
Professor
352-392-2591
butler@che.ufl.edu
Dynamics of Complex Fluids, Suspension and Multiphase Fluid Mechanics, Polymer Dynamics and Rheology
Anuj Chauhan
Professor
352-392-2592
chauhan@che.ufl.edu
Microfluidics, Drug Delivery, Biomaterials, Complex Fluids
Oscar D. Crisalle
Professor
352-392-5120
crisalle@che.ufl.edu
Process Control Engineering, Manufacture and Optimization of Photovoltaic Devices, Control and Optimization of Fuel Cells, Design and Analysis of Multivariable Control Algorithms, Including Predictive and Adaptive Control.
Richard B. Dickinson
Professor and Chair
352-392-0898
dickinson@che.ufl.edu
Cellular Engineering, Cell Adhesion, Cell Migration, Molecular Motors, Mathematical Biology
David Hibbitts
Assistant Professor
352-392-0751
dhibbitts@che.ufl.edu
Heterogeneous Catalysis, Kinetic Studies, Density Functional Theory, Catalyst Synthesis and Characterization

For more information visit Faculty Web Page
Peng Jiang
Professor
352-392-2189
pjiang@che.ufl.edu
Nanomaterials, Nanophotonics, Photonic Crystals, Self-assembly

For more information visit Faculty Web Page
Lewis E. Johns Jr.
Professor
352-392-0881
johns@che.ufl.edu
Fluid mechanics, Solute dispersion
Dmitry Kopelevich
Associate Professor
352-392-4422
dkopelevich@che.ufl.edu
Molecular and Multi-scale Modeling, Nanoscale Transport Phenomena, Non-equilibrium Statistical Mechanics
Tony Ladd
Professor
352-392-6509
ladd@che.ufl.edu
Numerical Simulations of Complex Fluids: Reactive Flows in Porous Media, Hydrodynamic Interactions, Dynamics of Filament Networks

For more information visit Faculty Web Page
Tanmay Lele
Professor
352-392-0317
tlele@che.ufl.edu
Cell mechano-transduction, Cytoskeletal force generation,Nano-biotechnology

For more information visit Faculty Web Page
Ranga Narayanan
Distinguished Professor
352-392-9103
ranga@che.ufl.edu
Interfacial instabilities, Transport phenomena with life support, materials science and biomedical applications
Mark Orazem
Distinguished Professor

Exxon-Mobil Gator Chemical Engineering Alumni Professor
352-392-6207
meo@che.ufl.edu

Electrochemical Engineering: Electrochemical Impedance Spectroscopy, Corrosion (including cathodic protection), Current Distribution in Electrochemical Systems, Fuel Cells, Mathematical Modeling.

For more information visit Faculty Web Page

Chang-Won Park
Professor
352-392-6205
park@che.ufl.edu
 
Polymer rheology and processing, Plastic optical fibers (POF), Chemical Mechanical Polishing, Micro-reformer for portable PEMFC, Interfacial phenomena in multiphase flows
Fan Ren
Distinguished Professor

Fred and Bonnie Edie Professor
352-392-4727
ren@che.ufl.edu
Semiconductor Materials and Devices

For more information visit Faculty Web Page
Carlos Rinaldi
Professor

Charles A. Stokes Term Professor
(352) 294-5588
carlos.rinaldi@bme.ufl.edu
Biomedical applications of magnetic nanoparticles; fundamental fluid physics of suspensions of magnetic nanoparticles; magnetic nanoparticle synthesis and functionalization; suspension hydrodynamics and rheology.

For more information visit BME Web Page
Spyros Svoronos
Professor
352-392-9101
svoronos@ufl.edu
Biological Wastewater Treatment, Particle Separations, Process Control
Yiider Tseng
Associate Professor
352-392-0862
ytseng@che.ufl.edu
Bioengineering, Engineering Science, Molecular Biomechanics, Tissue Engineering, Soft Material
Sergey Vasenkov
Associate Professor
352-392-0315
svasenkov@che.ufl.edu
Translational Dynamics in Biomembranes, Transport in Porous Materials with Hierarchy of Pore sizes, Transport-optimized Catalysis and Separations
Jason F. Weaver
Professor
352-392-0869
weaver@che.ufl.edu
Gas-surface Reactivity and Dynamics, Atomic and Molecular Beam Methods, Surface Spectroscopy
Helena Hagelin-Weaver
Assistant Professor
352-392-6585
hweaver@che.ufl.edu
Heterogeneous Catalysis, Nanoparticle Properties, Surface Characterizations, Organometallic and Homogeneous Chemistry
Kirk J. Ziegler
Associate Professor
Director, Center for Surface Science and Engineering
352-392-3412
kziegler@che.ufl.edu
Single-walled carbon nanotube dispersion and separations, Nanowire and nanotube synthesis and applications.

For more information visit Faculty Web Page
     
Affiliate Faculty  
Name Contact Research
Lisa McElwee-White
Colonel Allen R. and Margaret G. Crow Professor of Chemistry
352-392-8768
lmwhite@chem.ufl.edu
Design and synthesis of organometallic precursors for the deposition of materials.


Website
Christine E. Schmidt
Pruitt Family Professor and Chair, BME
352-273-9222
schmidt@bme.ufl.edu
Biomaterials for neural tissue regeneration and neural interfacing


Website
Blanka Sharma
Assistant Professor
352-273-9329
blanka.sharma@bme.ufl.edu

Biomaterials, regenerative medicine, drug/gene delivery, cancer therapies.

Our research is focused on understanding the fundamental interactions between stem cells and diseased/injured tissues, and developing biomaterials to better control stem cell behavior in the body. We do this by 1) engineering disease tissue models in vitro to understand the pathological conditions that impact stem cell behavior, 2) engineering of nanoparticle-based targeted drug/gene delivery systems and tissue engineering scaffolds to recruit and direct the endogenous stem cells that reside in our bodies, and 3) engineering biomaterials to improve survival and function of implanted stem cells. Ultimately, our goal is to translate this research into better ways to treat traumatic injuries, cancer, and degenerative diseases.

Website
     
Emeritus Faculty  
Name Contact Research
Tim Anderson
Distinguished Emeritus Professor
Dean UMass Amherst College of Engineering
Marston Hall Room 125 Amherst, MA 01003
Phone: 413-545-6388
Email: tja@umass.edu

352-392-8049 x 1300
tim@ufl.edu
Electronic materials processing, Thermochemistry and phase diagrams, Chemical vapor deposition and bulk crystal growth, Photovoltaics


For more information visit Faculty Web Page
Dinesh O. Shah
Professor Emeritus
352-392-0877
shah@che.ufl.edu
 
Interfacial phenomena in engineering and biomedical systems, Molecular association in micelles, liquid crystals and microemulsions, Nanoparticles for superconductors and magnetic materials, Enzymic reactions at interfaces

For more information visit Faculty Web Page
     
Courtesy Faculty  
Name Contact Research
David Boger
Courtesy Faculty  
352-392-4761
dvboger@unimelb.edu.au
Properties of viscoelastic fluids including Boger fluids, Particulate-suspension non-Newtonian fluids and their processing
Jennifer Sinclair Curtis
Courtesy Distinguished Professor
Dean of Engineering, UC Davis

Computational fluid dynamics for multiphase flows, discrete element method modeling and flow visualization for particulate flows.


For more information visit Faculty Web Page
Kerry D. Johanson
Courtesy Faculty
352-303-9123
matflowsol@bellsouth.net
Reduction of segregation in process plants, Effect of cohesion on flow profiles and solids wall loads, Effect of bulk solid strength on hang-ups in bins and hoppers, Effect of air injection on overcoming cohesive hangups and limiting flow rates
Olga Kryliouk
Courtesy Faculty
GLO-USA, Inc.
Olga.Kryliouk@glo.se  
Chemistry of electronic materials, Chemical vapor deposition, Epitaxial film growth, Materials characterization