Yang Wins Bruce Deal & Andy Grove Young Author Award

Jiancheng Yang, Ph.D.

Jiancheng Yang, Ph.D., won the Bruce Deal & Andy Grove Young Author Award from The Electrochemical Society (ECS). The award consists of a framed scroll and a monetary prize, and travel award to be divided among the eligible authors of the winning paper. Yang will deliver a 40-minute presentation at the 236th bi-annual meeting in Atlanta on Oct. 13-17, 2019.

“I would like to thank Dr. Fan Ren for his mentorship during my Ph.D. study. This award would not have been possible without his help,” says Yang.

Yang obtained his Ph.D. in Chemical Engineering from the University of Florida in May 2019. He is the second student of Dr. Ren’s to win the award.

The Bruce Deal & Andy Grove Young Author Award recognizes the best paper published in the ECS Journal of Solid State Science and Technology (JSS) by a young author or co-authors for the volume year preceding the award.

Past UF recipients
Shihyun Ahn (2017)

About Bruce E. Deal & Andy Grove
This award is named in honor of Andy Grove and Bruce Deal, co-authors on a paper published in the Journal of The Electrochemical Society describing the Deal-Grove model which mathematically describes the growth of an oxide layer on the surface of a material. The Deal-Grove model is used to analyze thermal oxidation of silicon in semiconductor device fabrication and has had a lasting influence on the semiconductor technology industry.