skip to Main Content
CHE Community Celebrates At The End Of The Year Banquet

CHE Community Celebrates at the End of the Year Banquet

Chemical Engineering students, faculty, and staff celebrated a year of momentous achievement at the End of the Year Banquet at the Reitz Union Rion Ballroom on Sunday, April 29.

“This has been a phenomenal year for Chemical Engineering, with renewed institutional support, recruiting of new faculty and staff, continued recognition of our faculty and staff through college and university awards, and significant achievements by our students,” said department chair, Carlos Rinaldi, Ph.D.

The banquet is a result of the excellent leadership of the AIChE and GRACE student chapters, who wanted to host a more inclusive event.

The community enjoyed a delicious dinner, and an informative and engaging game of faculty trivia. Inspiring messages were delivered by Liliana Bello, Phillip Dixon, and Prof. Anuj Chauhaun. The event was capped off with the presentation of merit awards.

Dr. Rinaldi looks forward to next year’s event where the department has an additional milestone to celebrate – its 80th Anniversary!

Congratulations to all the award winners listed below:

Undergraduate Awards

John P. O’Connell Scholarship Fund
Katelyn Barrow

Proctor and Gamble Chemical Engineering Scholarship
Andi Crowell
Francis Nguyen
Juan Juarez

Fahien Endowed Teaching Scholarship
Randy Elhassani
Lauren Paschall

John C. Biery Scholarship
Liliana Bello
David Austin Fussell
Evan Wilson

Howard W. and Norma J. Smoyer Scholarship/Fellowship in Chemical Engineering
Rachel Madden
Amber Blazek

Schroff Family Endowed Scholarship in Chemical Engineering
Jung Kim
Stephanie Granda
Josh Pinto
Ella Starr
Fiki Owhoso

Boyington/Chapnerkar Endowed Scholarship in Chemical Engineering
Jessica Partain

Cirioli/Exxon Mobil Friends
Ryan Glaab
Catherine Fennessy
Nicholas Valderrma
Taylor Bliss

Graduate Awards

Ray W. Fahien Graduate Teaching Award
Rohan D. Dhavalikar
Arthur Dizon
Scott Strednak
Andrew Garcia

Arnold J. “Red” Morway Memorial Graduate Fellowships
Akash Ganesh
Xinhong Liu
Can Wang
Stephanie Jane Siy
Saumye Vashishtha
Bo Yu

Faculty Professorships

Charles A. Stokes Endowed Professorship in Chemical Engineering
Tanmay Lele, Ph.D.

Dow Chemical Company Foundation Professorship in Chemical Engineering
Kirk Ziegler, Ph.D.

Exxon Mobil Gator Alumni Faculty Endowment for Chemical Engineering
Jason Weaver, Ph.D.

William P. and Tracey Cirioli Term Professorship
Ranga Narayanan, Ph.D.

Dr. and Mrs. Frederick C. Edie Term Professorship in Chemical Engineering
Mark Orazem, Ph.D.

See event photos>>

Back To Top