Upcoming Events

    (No events at this time)

The Dinesh O. Shah Professorship in Surface Science

After serving the University of Florida and our Gator Engineers for more than three decades, Dr. Shah legacy continues to shape the Chemical Engineering Department. Find out more about one of the department’s most important initiatives.

Click here for information on the Shah Professorship!

New study published on nuclear mechanics in PNAS

In a cell that is not actively moving, the shape of the nucleus and its central position are robustly maintained in a mechanical homeostasis. How nuclear shape and position are maintained despite the various types of intracellular forces that act on the nuclear surface is an open question. Dysregulated positioning and irregular nuclear shape are associated with a variety of human pathologies. In this paper we estimate the magnitude of the forces that are required to displace and deform the cell nucleus and identify the main molecules that resist these forces. Our results are important because they reveal how the nucleus has such a stable shape and position in the cell, despite the different forces acting on it. READ MORE

2015 Department Award & Professorship Winners Announced

On April 17th, 2015, the department held its annual Awards Ceremony in conjunction with the Spring Advisory Board Meeting and the Undergraduate Unit Ops Poster Competition. Congratulations to all of our winners!

See department Professorship winners HERE.

See department award winners HERE.

See poster competition winners HERE.

Dr. Tanmay Lele has been appointed as the new director of the Institute for Cell Engineering and Regenerative Medicine

ICERM is a multidisciplinary institute consisting of faculty from the college and beyond whose purpose is to advance cell and tissue engineering. Click here for learning more: https://www.eng.ufl.edu/icerm/

Jack Kendall Patent

UF's Office of Technology and Licensing has started the marketing campaign for undergrad ChE student Jack Kendallís patent: Neural Network that Features Sparse Memristive Connections. Jack is pursuing his degree in Chemical Engineering and Physics and is a member of the Nino Research Group. Read more on his patent HERE

Assistant Professor Positions

The Department of Chemical Engineering invites applications for two tenure-track positions at the Assistant Professor level. Click HERE for more information.

Congratulations to Feng Zhang for winning the 2014 Mort Traum award of the American Vacuum Society!

The Mort Traum award is given annually for the best student poster in surface science at the international AVS meeting. Feng won the award for his poster titled, "CO oxidation on PdO(101) during temperature programmed reaction spectroscopy: Role of oxygen vacancies".